Monday, July 8, 2013

Why I feel Like NACHO LIbre wearing his stretchy pants...

First off... NAcho Libre is one of Jason and I's Favorite movies! We quote it everywhere...we once quoted it the entire sacrament meeting giggling, poking eachother, shaking so hard... ....whoops shhh!!!! (it was before we had kids haha) Anyway...one of my most favorite parts is when they find Nacho in his room wearing stretchy pants...Nacho said :sometimes when you are a man..you wear stretchy pants in your room...just for fun... Or something to that effect... Nacho felt like he was conquering the world in that moment before he got caught haha! It made me think...Man Do I sometimes feel like him. I think every mom and dad should get medals and be allowed to "wear those stretchy pants" on occasion. Today I was super sick....I still managed to do the laundry (didnt fold it though), get my kids dressed (not myself), feed the kids, go to the bank, get groceries, and make dinner...Im still looking at piles of messes everywhere in my home... but gees I feel like A super hero!!! If you noticed.. I still seemed to not allow myself to see past the things I didnt accomplish.... I went and put on my batman shirt(Im so not kidding here) to remind myself that I should feel like Nacho today hahahaha... I shouldnt worry about what I can or cannot do or didnt do today... I should be feeling like I could and did conquer the world today!! Another thing that stuck out to me was Nacho kinda recoiled when he was caught basking in his awesome fearlessness...Sometimes I feel like I dont allow myself to really enjoy the moments that I felt I accomplished something great or something wonderful because It might come across in some negative way..... Im often called "Too nice she must be fake".....it made me start noticing the easy judgements each of us make..."Shes too nice...she must be fake (maybe she really is just that way...really nice! people do really nice things still!).... hes way too confident he must be totally into himself...(maybe hes had a really rough week or day and is trying to force himself to be confident so he doesnt cry because ya know men dont cry..boasting confidence is a self protection).. "shes soo beautiful...seems or must be stuck up", shes too fat, shes too skinny, hes too short, hes too tall, oh my gosh if that were my child there is no way that would happen misfit parent he/she is, or one of my other favorites..."you give way too much" or "you are way too selfish"...sigh..no one can win..im too giving, but then if i do something for myself im too selfish...if im too outgoing or too nice then i must be fake, but then if im closed off or hold back then im stuck up or too shy or judgemental...ay carrumba!!! we are in whiplash century... I know a lot of people are really good at not caring about what people think and I must admit I so need to be better at that... I worry a about how what i do will affect anyone in anyway even if that choice is whats best for my own family... maybe its because when I was bullied for so long as a younger girl I felt that pain of peoples acitons and words... I dunno..and maybe we all are just always on the defense and shouldnt take offense so easily? lol i dunno.. I definitely could be so much better though at not worrying so much and everything else for that matter... It all came down to.. I felt accomplished... I felt happy...and for once i felt satisfied with being imperfectly wonderful in that moment...just like NACHO hahaha!! So if you havent watched Nacho Libre...go watch it and think of the times you felt you conquered the world or could conquer it and be happy!!